Bays Rhino Ale

Bays Brewery launched a new ale to celebrate The Great Big Rhino Project!

The Paignton micro-brewery is a long-time supporter of Paignton Zoo and its conservation projects. Since 2013 the partnership between Paignton Zoo and Bays Brewery has raised nearly £10,000 for the conservation of rhinos, giraffes and gorillas.

Pete Salmon of Bays Brewery explained: “Bays are very happy to be working with a local charity supporting international rhino conservation. We’re very pleased with our Rhino Ale – it’s a well-balanced, easy-drinking, light golden ale.

“We produced a special ale for The Great Gorillas Project in 2013, one for rhinos in 2014 and then giraffes in 2015. They were all successful, so now we’re doing another – and this time we return to the rhinos, a species that undoubtedly needs the funds.”

Paignton Zoo’s Pippa Craddock added: “We hope people will raise a glass for rhino conservation and drink a toast to the launch of the Great Big Rhino Trail at the end of July.” The 4.7% ale uses hops from Tucker’s Maltings. Bays will donate 10p per pint and 10p per bottle, while Wetherspoon’s will give £10 per cask (which works out at roughly 13p per pint).

The Rhino Ale was available at the following pubs:

Paignton

The Isaac Merritt Paignton TQ3 3AA www.facebook.com/TheIsaacMerritt
Talk of the Town Paignton TQ4 6AL www.facebook.com/Talk.of.the.Town.Paignton
The Spinning Wheel Paignton TQ4 6BE www.facebook.com/The-Spinning-Wheel
Shoreline Paignton TQ4 6AG www.facebook.com/shorelinepaignton

Torquay

The London Inn Torquay TQ1 2AA www.facebook.com/pages/The-London-Inn
The Green Ginger Torquay TQ2 5DZ www.facebook.com/thegreenginger
Babbacombe Inn Torquay TQ1 3LP www.facebook.com/BabbacombeInn
Riviera International Centre Torquay TQ2 5LZ www.facebook.com/rivieracentre
Orange Tree Restaurant Torquay TQ1 2AL www.facebook.com/Orangetreetorquay
Pier Point Torquay TQ2 5HA www.facebook.com/PierpointTorquay

Brixham

The Vigilance Brixham TQ5 9DE www.facebook.com/thevigilancebrixham
Guardhouse Cafe Brixham TQ5 9AW www.facebook.com/GuardhouseCafe
Poopdeck Restaurant Brixham TQ5 8AW www.facebook.com/poopdeckrestaurant

Newton Abbot

The Richard Hopkins Newton Abbot TQ12 2EW www.facebook.com/TheRichardHopkins

Dartmouth

Kendricks Restaurant Dartmouth TQ6 9AB www.kendricksrestaurant.co.uk/

Teignmouth

The Jolie Brise Teignmouth TQ14 8PE www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-jolie-brise-teignmouth

Exmouth

The Powder Monkey Exmouth EX8 1RJ www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-powder-monkey-exmouth

Honiton

Star Inn Honiton EX14 1BS www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-star-inn-honiton

Exeter

The Chevalier Inn Exeter EX4 3HR www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-chevalier-inn-exeter

Plymouth

Stannary Court Plymouth PL7 2AA www.facebook.com/stannarycourt
The Britannia Plymouth PL2 3BH www.facebook.com/thebritanniajdwplymouth
The Mannamead Plymouth PL4 6JH www.facebook.com/pages/The-Mannamead
Union Rooms Plymouth PL1 2SU www.facebook.com/pages/theunionrooms
The Gog and Magog Plymouth PL1 2LA www.facebook.com/thegogandmagog

Tavistock

Queens Hotel Tavistock PL19 8AQ www.facebook.com/pages/queensheadhotel

Barnstaple

The Panniers Barnstaple EX31 1RX www.facebook.com/panniers.jdw
The Water Gate Barnstaple EX31 1EU www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-water-gate-barnstaple

Tiverton

Whiteball Inn Tiverton EX16 5LY www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-white-ball-inn-tiverton

Somerset

The Coal Orchard Taunton TA1 1UD www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-coal-orchard-taunton
The Cerdic Chard TA20 1QA www.facebook.com/TheCerdic

Cornwall

The Hain Line St Ives TR26 1SD www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-hain-line-st-ives
Chapel an Gansblydhen Bodmin PL31 2HR www.jdwetherspoon.com/chapel-an-gansblydhen-bodmin
The Towan Blystra Newquay TR7 1SG www.jdwetherspoon.com/the-towan-blystra-newquay

 

    Rhino Ale Pump Clip   

Where can I buy the ale?

The Rhino Ale is available at the following Wetherspoons pubs:

The Isaac Merritt Paignton TQ3 3AA www.facebook.com/TheIsaacMerritt
Stannery Court Plymouth PL7 2AA www.facebook.com/stannarycourt
The Britannia Plymouth PL2 3BH www.facebook.com/thebritanniajdwplymouth
Talk of the Town Paignton TQ4 6AL www.facebook.com/Talk.of.the.Town.Paignton
The Vigilance Brixham TQ5 9DE www.facebook.com/thevigilancebrixham
The London Inn Torquay TQ1 2AA www.facebook.com/pages/The-London-Inn
The Green Ginger Torquay TQ2 5DZ www.facebook.com/thegreenginger
The Mannamead Plymouth PL4 6JH www.facebook.com/pages/The-Mannamead
Union Rooms Plymouth PL1 2SU www.facebook.com/pages/theunionrooms
Queens Hotel Tavistock PL19 8AQ www.facebook.com/pages/queensheadhotel
The Gog and Magog Plymouth PL1 2LA www.facebook.com/thegogandmagog
Great Big Rhinos finish on a high

Great Big Rhinos finish on a high

The Great Big Rhino Project has come to an end with a successful charity auction that raised £123,000.

Read more

Sign up to our newsletter


Come and socialise with us!

How to donate

If you would like to support us by making a donation, you can do so in multiple ways...

Find out more